It all depends on the types of insurance coverages the drivers who were involved had at the time of the accident
Under Texas law, drivers are only required to carry liability coverage with the following limits:
- $30,000 of coverage for injuries per person, up to a total of $60,000 per accident.
- $25,000 of coverage for property damages.
[Source: Texas Department of Insurance].
The State refers to this as 30/60/25 coverage. When a person is involved in an accident in San Antonio and it is their fault, their liability coverage will pay for some of the other driver’s medical expenses along with their passengers as well as property damage and other expenses. Unfortunately, liability coverage doesn’t cover the insured. Essentially, what this means is that if a driver were to cause an accident and they only purchased enough coverage to meet the minimum requirements, their insurer wouldn’t cover their expenses related to the accident.
However, if another driver was responsible for causing an accident, then their liability insurance and any other coverages they purchased would pay for the property damage they caused, as well as some of the other’s driver’s medical expenses.
What types of insurance coverages protect a driver who is at fault for an accident?
If a driver is liable or partially liable for a wreck, although their liability insurance won’t pay for their property damage and medical expenses, there are insurance coverages that will pay for some of their accident-related expenses if they were purchased at the time of the incident. These include:
- Collision Coverage
Collision coverage will pay to repair or even replace a driver’s vehicle after they were involved in an accident.
- Medical Payments Coverage
Medical payments coverage will pay for a driver’s medical bills if they suffered injuries in an accident. This type of coverage also covers passengers and will even pay for the injuries a policyholder suffers if they are injured while riding in someone else’s vehicle. In the event a driver’s medical bills exceed their policy limits, they are then liable for paying for this out of their own pocket.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage
PIP coverage is a requirement in some states, but in Texas, drivers have the option of adding it onto their policy. PIP coverage will pay for some medical expenses, lost wages, and other nonmedical costs related to an accident.
Recovering the Maximum Amount of Compensation After a Car Accident in San Antonio
If a driver wants to be sure they are properly compensated for their injures and other losses, they should consider contacting a San Antonio, TX car accident lawyer. The attorneys The Texas Law Giant can assist a car crash victim through the claims process and ensure the insurer is providing them with a fair and reasonable amount.
The Texas Law Giant can be reached at:
5826 W Interstate 10 Ste 102
San Antonio, TX 78201-2852
Phone: (210) 944-4103